Pennsylvania Association of Rural and Small Schools

Board of Directors

Our board directors work together to ensure that the goals and actions of PARSS continue to fulfill our overarching goals of ensuring fair funding to schools and a quality education for every child in Pennsylvania. The board is comprised of members from each region to ensure equal representation in every region.

Board Officers

Ms. Karen E. Jez
Region 6 (Riverview)
Titusville Area
(814) 827.2715

About Ms. Karen E. Jez

Karen began her teaching career as a substitute teacher and then as an art teacher for the Franklin and Valley Grove School Districts in the mid-1980s. While teaching, Karen became involved in leading many extracurricular activities including class advisor, coach, student assistance team, and peer mentoring.

Karen became an assistant principal at TMS in 1996 before taking on the role of principal for the newly constructed middle school in 1998. She was instrumental in leading the school’s program development, which opened in 1999. The school has since become a model for middle schools across the Commonwealth.

After serving as the assistant superintendent, Karen accepted the position as superintendent of schools for Titusville in 1996. Here she continues making her mark as a top quality school leader, not only locally, but also across the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. Karen is vice president of the PARSS board, a member of the FORUM for the Superintendents of Western PA, and active member of the professional development committee for the PA Association of School Administrators (PASA).

Karen is also involved in numerous volunteer agencies in the community. She is currently a board member for United Way of the Titusville region, president of the Titusville Regional Literacy Council, and the foundation chairperson of the Titusville Rotary Club. She truly lives by her motto, “Educating children is the most important thing our community does.”

Vice President
Mr. Scott Graham
Region 9 (Seneca Highlands)
Northern Potter
(814) 848.7506

About Mr. Scott Graham

Education: Graduated from West Virginia Wesleyan College, BS in business education (1989); MA in special education from West Virginia University (1995); MEd in secondary administration from Frostburg State University (1998).

Teaching Experience: Long-term substitute at Widmeyer Elementary in 5th grade, Berkeley Springs, WV (1989-90); learning support teacher at Widmeyer Elementary School (1990-97); learning support teacher at Hedgesville Middle School, Hedgesville, WV (1997-99); assistant principal at Bald Eagle Nittany High School, Keystone Central School District, Lock Haven, PA (1999); high school principal at Everett Area School District, Everett, PA (1999–2004); superintendent at Caledonia North Supervisory Union, Lyndonville, VT (2004–2007); superintendent at Northern Potter School District, Ulysses, PA (2007–Present).

Leadership: board of governors PARSS (2007–Present); vice president of PARSS (2016); board of governors PASA (2011–present); board of governors Potter County Education Council (2007–Present); hospital advisory board at Charles Cole Hospital, Coudersport, PA (2011-present). Presented at ISTE (International Society for Technology in Education), NREA (National Rural Education Association), PSBA/PASA conference, MCL (Mass Customized Learning Conference) both at the state and national levels. Topics included: collaboration of agencies in Potter County, technology integration, mass customized learning.

Family: I have been married to Alicia for 28 years, and we have three children: Kyle 22, Shayna 18, and Nicole 17.

Hobbies: travel, hiking, and I am an avid Pittsburgh fan (Steelers, Pirates, Penguins).

Mrs. Lorraine Felker
Region 29 (Schuylkill)
Schuylkill Haven Area
(570) 385.6705

About Mrs. Lorraine Felker

Education: BSEd in secondary education math from Kutztown University; MSEd in curriculum and instruction from Kutztown University; principal certification from Alvernia; superintendent's letter of eligibility from Arcadia University.

Employment: 1988–89 Berks Career & Technology Center - math remediation; 1989–90 Tamaqua Area School District - middle and high school math teacher; 1990–2007 Kutztown Area School District - middle and high school math teacher, HS assistant principal, HS principal; 2008–present Schuylkill Haven Area School District - HS principal, superintendent since 2009.

Family: Married for 28 years, 5 children, 6 grandchildren and growing!

Hobbies: Studio artist at Walk In Art Center, Schuylkill Haven as a basket weaver and knitter; gardening; hiking; reading.

Mr. Matthew Splain
At-Large (9)
(814) 817.1380

About Mr. Matthew Splain

Mr. Matthew Splain is the superintendent of schools for the Otto-Eldred School District, a small rural district located in McKean County, northwestern Pennsylvania. Mr. Splain received his B.S. in Mathematics from St. Bonaventure University in 1997 and, after receiving his Pennsylvania certification, began his teaching career in the Coudersport Area School District. During this time, he completed his coursework for a M.Ed. in Curriculum and Instruction from Gannon University (2001) and qualified for his principal’s certification. In March 2005, Mr. Splain became high school principal for the Otto-Eldred School District. Mr. Splain completed additional coursework at St. Bonaventure University and received his superintendent’s letter in 2010. He became superintendent of schools for the Otto-Eldred School District in April 2011.

Mr. Splain currently serves as a member of the Executive Board of the Pennsylvania Association of Rural and Small Schools (PARSS), the Advisory Board of the University of Pittsburgh at Bradford, the PIAA District IX Committee, is a board member for McKean County CASA, and is a member of the Leadership McKean Class of 2014. He also enjoys volunteering his time as a youth sports coach for numerous local organizations and serves on the Parish Finance Council for St. Raphael’s Church in Eldred.

Mr. Splain currently lives in Duke Center, PA with his wife, Melanie, and their four sons, Maxton, Manning, Macaibe, and Maddon.

Regional Representatives

Mr. William R. Henderson III
Region 1 (IU 1)
(724) 736.1116

Region 3 (Allegheny)

Dr. Michael L. Schreck
Region 4 (Midwestern)
Shensngo Area
(724) 658.7287

Mr. William A. Nichols
Region 5 (N-Western Tri-Cnty)
Corry Area
(814) 664.4677

Dr. Leann Spazak
Region 7 (Westmoreland)
Monessen City
(724) 684.3600

Ms. Royce Ann Boyd
Region 8 (Appalachia)
(814) 239.5141

Mr. Brian Griffith
Region 10 (Central)
Penns Valley
(814) 422.2000

Mr. James A. Estep
Region 11 (Tuscarora)
Mifflin County
(717) 248.0148

Mr. David A. Burkett
Region 12 (Lincoln)
(717) 349.3011

Dr. Brian Bliss
Region 13 (Lancaster-Lebanon)
(717) 786.8401

Dr. Richard J. Mextorf
Region 14 (Berks 22, 23, 24, 25)
Hamburg Area
(610) 562.2241

Dr. Michelle M. Orner
Region 15 (Capitol Area)
Halifax Area
(717) 896.3416

Mr. Daniel R. Lichtel
Region 16 (Central Susquehanna)
Mifflinburg Area
(570) 966.8200

Ms. Diana Barnes
Region 17 (BLaST)
Northern Tioga
(814) 258.5642

Region 18 (Luzerne)

Mr. Bronson Stone
Region 19 (N-Eastern Edu. 20, 21)
Susquehanna Community
(570) 853.4921

Region 27 (Beaver Valley)

Mr. Joseph Bradley
Region 28 (AR-IN)
Purchase Line
(724) 254.4312

Members at Large

Dr. Peter J. Aiken
At-Large (13)
Manheim Central
(717) 665.3422

Mr. Mark Bower
At-Large (8)
Rockwood Area
(814) 926.4688

Dr. Kenneth F. Cuomo
At-Large (19)
Elk Lake
(570) 278.1106

Dr. Brenda M. Freeman
At-Large (17)
(570) 724.4424

Mr. Thomas J Kakabar
At-Large (8)
Conemaugh Township
(814) 479.7575

Mr. Andrew M. Potteiger
At-Large (14)
Brandywine Heights Area
(610) 682.5100

Mr. Michael V. Zinobile
At-Large (11)
Juniata Valley
(814) 669.9150